Resources for Pregnancy/Infant Loss {& a giveaway}

If you clicked on this post because you have or are currently suffering pregnancy or infant loss, first, let me say that I am so, so sorry for the loss(es) you have faced. I can’t even begin to relate to the depths of suffering that some of you reading this have been through, but I hope to (by God’s grace) offer some resources and encouragement that have helped in my own journey of grief.
My place in this community no one wants to find themselves in was earned this April, when my husband and I walked through a miscarriage of our first child. Since then, I have not written much because I’ve been trying to sort through all the questions (and there have been many) with the Lord before sharing them publicly. I have come to realize that some questions will never be answered fully, but I can rest on the promises of God that will never fail.
The resources I’ve gathered here for you are organized by category, not necessarily by which ones I liked the best. Also, keep in mind that some are particularly for grieving mothers, but others are for times of suffering in general. Don’t forget to scroll all the way down for a chance to win one of two gifts to help in your own grief journey.

Books

  • I Will Carry You by Angie Smith:
    • Angie and Todd Smith were parents to a little girl named Audrey, who died shortly after birth. Not only is the story captivating, but Angie Smith is a wonderful writer. I can’t say in words how much this book meant to me.
  • Empty Arms by Pam Vredevelt:
    • Compared to I Will Carry You, this book is focused more on what happens to a woman physically, spiritually, and emotionally after a miscarriage or stillbirth. I found it to be a good practical resource, written from the perspective of a counselor who suffered a miscarriage herself.
  • Fear and Faith by Trillia Newbell:
    • My sweet husband bought this book for me and gave it to me on Mother’s Day weekend, which was just two weeks after the miscarriage. For that reason, it’s extra special to me. The title explains the theme of the book, which is how fear and faith interact and how we can grow in trusting the Lord in spite of our fears. Trillia Newbell has experienced four miscarriages of her own, so her perspective is unique for being able to relate to women walking through those kind of fears.
  • Inheritance of Tears by Jessalyn Hutto:
    • I have to admit that I have not read this one, but I’d like to. I saw an endorsement that The Gospel Coalition gave on this book via twitter.

Videos

  • Of Thorns and Roses:
    • The beautiful story of Willa Rose Brawner, who died at 34 weeks in the womb. This one was particularly hard for me to watch because losing Willa is not all that BJ and SK have had to suffer. BUT their true joy in the Lord and their love for each other radiates through the sadness.
  • I Will Carry You
    • The “cliffnotes” version of the book.

Music

  • Trust in You by Lauren Daigle:
    • I had this song on repeat so many days following the loss of our baby. It reminded me that God is still trustworthy, even when he doesn’t “move the mountains.” I actually recommend her whole CD, as many songs on it helped me focus on His goodness during trials.
  • Though You Slay Me by Shane and Shane:
    • To this day I can’t listen to this song without crying. It meant a lot to me before this latest season of grief, but this year it’s brought fresh meaning. It reminds me that my pain is not without purpose in the Redeemer’s Hands.

Scripture (obviously this is a very brief snapshot of all I could list, but all of Scripture is THE best resource for a hurting heart):

  • Psalm 16 “I have no good apart from you.”
  • 1 Corinthians 4:16-18 “…an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison…”
  • 2 Samuel 12:15-23 “I shall go to him, but he will not return to me.”
  • Revelation 21:4-5 “Behold, I am making all things new.”

Blogs and Articles

Products

  • Laurelbox:
    • I have not personally used their services, but I’m sure I will in the future for other hurting friends. Everything on the site is tailored to uplift hurting hearts. They are a little on the pricey side, but the gifts are stunning.

Now, for the giveaway. I have one copy of I Will Carry You and Empty Arms to send two readers, in that order. To enter, simply comment below and let me know 1) why one of these books would be a blessing to you OR 2) who you will give the book to if you are chosen. Winners will be chosen randomly by picking a name out of a hat (very technical, I know) on Saturday, September 19th. Entries will be accepted through midnight on September 18th. My intent is to offer a bit of hope and help through these books. I am praying for you!

I will carry you

Leave a Reply

