Connected {Review}

Let me just tell you, I am so excited to write about this book I finished today. I highly recommend it (sorry, getting ahead of myself already). 
If you know me, you may or may not guess that I’m an introvert. That doesn’t meant that I don’t LOVE people (I do!) or that I’m a recluse. It simply means that I enjoy and “recharge” by time alone, usually with a book or a journal, or both. Lately I have been trying to find the balance between doing what God has called me to do and having time to rest. I don’t want to be exhausted from busyness, nor do I want to be lazy. What to do? 
My biggest takeaway from this book was in the beginning, when Erin talked about how being loved is different than being known. Our culture values love, but it struggles with understanding that true love begins with really knowing a person beyond the mask(s) he or she might wear. God can see through every mask we might try to put on. He knows our fears, failures, and sadness, and yet He still loves us. 
Last week I wrote a review on a book about fasting. That review was part of a bigger picture of what God has been doing in my life recently. Over the past several weeks, my constant prayer has been, “God, I want to KNOW you. Like, really know you. I want to know your presence so deeply that I miss you when I’m not close to you. I don’t just want to know about you; I want to know you, God.” So when this book began with talking about “knowing and being known,” a light bulb turned on in my head. 
God is not hiding from me. One of my favorite passages in the Bible is Jeremiah 29:11-14, which says, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord…” So, this need to connect, to know and be known, starts with God. He loves me in spite of knowing everything about me–what greater gift is there? 
The knowledge that God invites us to know and be known by Him is the springboard for every other relationship. Because we are fully known and fully loved by our Creator, we need not fear reaching out to know and be known by others. Will it be messy? Yes. Will it be inconvenient? Sometimes, yes. But we need each other. 
Erin Davis does a fantastic job of talking about the hurdles to connecting, to our need for connection, to the practical aspects of connecting with others. I realized while reading this book that true connection with other people is not something to pursue instead of rest. Rather, it is part of resting because I can be real with someone without fear and without performance. I have been greatly encouraged to seek deeper connections within my circles, and I can’t wait to see what God brings forth as He stretches me in this area. 
I’m not sure I did the book justice in this review, but trust me. It’s worth reading! I have already recommended it to a friend who I plan on meeting with to discuss it once she is finished. If anyone else reads it, I would love to hear your thoughts! 
*I received a free copy of the book in ebook form through netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.*
Leave a Reply

