Hope for Number 327,654

Most blog posts you’ll see today will be life updates and new year’s resolutions. I have my own set of habits I’d like to change and goals I’d like to see achieved in the next year, but something stopped me in my tracks today that I have to write about.

Planned Parenthood: We Aborted 327,653 in FY2014

The headline I saw posted on facebook made my stomach drop into my toes. As if that number weren’t staggering enough, the article went on to say, “That works out to an average of 37 abortions per hour or nearly 1 every 90 seconds.” 

I weep, and I grieve. 
I don’t just grieve for the babies that will never live outside the womb, I grieve for their mothers. I wonder what their stories are and what could have made a difference for them. I wonder if they knew that they had options. I wonder if they know that they are truly loved. 
I have the opportunity to meet women who are facing unplanned pregnancies every week. With trained staff and volunteers we are able to walk with them through the decision making process in order to help them make an informed decision that is best for them. These women face real struggles. They are scared and hurting, and in the most vulnerable moments of their lives. 
When I look into the eyes of a woman who has chosen abortion or is struggling to make a decision about her pregnancy, I see my classmate from college. I see my best friend. I see my sister. I see me. 
No matter what our differences are, I see myself in the woman at the clinic because we are both in need of so much grace. We both long to be loved and assured that there is hope for the future. We are both sinners who have NO hope without someone to save us. Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift! While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. There is hope, there is grace, there is love because Jesus took the weight of every sin upon Himself and died in our place. The judgment and wrath reserved for us was placed on Him. We can be forgiven and reconciled to the Father! And there is NOTHING we can do that takes us out of the reach of His loving arms.

So next time you see an article like the one referenced above, don’t just weep for the unborn. Weep for their mothers who so desperately need to hear that God loves them, and pray for them. Weep tears of gratitude for the One who met us where we were when we had no hope. And rejoice, because there is hope for those 327,653…and even number 327,654. There is hope for you and me.
Leave a Reply

