Loving My (LGBT) Neighbor {book review}

“Friendship is not a means to an end; it is an end in itself.” ~Glenn Stanton

I decided to read this book because I recently realized I can no longer bury my head in the sand on issues surrounding same sex attraction. For far too long, I have avoided taking any sort of stand about homosexuality and the hard questions that arise about it. I do hold to the Bible’s definition of marriage as being a lifelong commitment between one man and one woman. However, I have seen too many be put off by arguments and differing opinions, so I have chosen to remain silent.
What I gained from this book was not “how to win an argument about homosexuality” or “how to convert someone with same-sex attraction.” What I did gain was a better understanding of friendship in general, along with a better understanding of my neighbors who identify with the LGBT community.
I think the most helpful part of the book for is captured in the title: Loving My (LGBT) Neighbor. The key word or phrase is not “LGBT”; rather, it is “Neighbor.” We tend to put up walls around ourselves that classify people into groups of “us” and “them.” I think we do a lot of that kind of categorization in the Christian community, but what Glenn Stanton brings to light is the fact that we are all sinners in need of extravagant grace. Realizing this means holding tightly to the gospel and allowing its message to shape how I view others who are made in the image of God.
I greatly appreciate Glenn Stanton’s stance. Lately, it seems that more and more evangelicals are preaching messages of compromise rather than carefully balancing grace and truth. Glenn Stanton walks a fine line, but pulls it off beautifully. The book is filled with research and personal stories that make it informative and enjoyable. This book is great for those like me who want to learn more about the LGBT community and how to engage it, but it’s also great for people who want to learn more about what it means to be a true friend.

*I received an ebook copy of this book from netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.*

Leave a Reply

