Good News {book review}

Good News for Weary Women: Escaping the Bondage of To-Do Lists, Steps, and Bad AdviceGood News for Weary Women: Escaping the Bondage of To-Do Lists, Steps, and Bad Advice by Elyse Fitzpatrick could not have come at a better time for someone like me. 

You see, part of growing up in the church (at least for me) means that I am really good at following the rules and playing the part. As a self-identified people pleaser, my view of God has been tainted at times by this idea that if I do____, He will be happy with me, but if I do ____, He will be disappointed. 

The good news that Elyse Fitzpatrick writes about it that Jesus has already fulfilled each and every “step” required for righteousness and He exchanged that righteousness for our sin at Calvary.

This is GREAT news for women who are exhausted by trying so hard to be the Proverbs 31 woman or the Mary in a world full of Marthas. The truth is, God is pleased with us, but it’s not because we have done great things. It’s not because we have obeyed all the rules. It’s not because we serve four times a week and keep our house spotless and always smile. Its because Jesus Himself intercedes for us. When The Father looks at us who have believed in Jesus for salvation, He says, “This is my beloved son in whom I am well pleased.” That is good news! 

I loved the honesty in this book. I loved that Elyse Fitzpatrick didn’t talk to her audience, but instead talked with us as a fellow weary woman who desperately needs the finished work of Christ for salvation. I loved the freedom she gave to rest in that salvation, knowing that the work has already been done!

My only hesitation in recommending this book would be the beginning. I realize that Elyse was trying to get the point across that “steps, lists, and bad advice” are not what save us, but I think there could have been a little more balance. To be fair, she addresses this later in the book, but the first couple of chapters read a little harsh (in my opinion).

All that said, I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. It was a welcomed message for a worn out, people-pleasing woman like myself! 

The dedication to the book is fitting for all who need to read it: “To all the wearied, burdened, wounded, and struggling women who live their Lord but can’t seem to find the joy, peace, or freedom they’ve heard so much about. Hear His good word for you: ‘Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest’ (Matthew 11:28).”

*I received a free copy of this title in ebook form through netgalley.com and Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. in exchange for an honest review.*
Leave a Reply

