A day in books

“If you walk a mile in my shoes, you’ll end up at the bookstore.” {This quote describes today perfectly.}
Phil let me know earlier in the week that he’d be playing golf today, so I decided to take a little drive to Durham, where The Regulator Bookshop is located. I hadn’t yet gone there before today, but had read about it in My Bookstore. It sounded right up my alley, and it did not disappoint. While I usually tend to enjoy used bookstores more than stores that sell new (I just can’t bring myself to spend $27 on a book I’ll only read once), I have to appreciate an independent shop with carefully selected books. Bonus–The Regulator Bookshop does both!
I took my time, browsing the shelves of fiction, biography, local authors, and nonfiction. I especially enjoyed the books tagged “signed by the author” and carefully lifted the covers to see each individual mark adding a personal touch to each author’s labor of love.
I walked out with A Novel Bookstore and A Good and Perfect Gift. I’m looking forward to reading them, when I have the time! After leaving The Regulator, I walked down 9th St to the Market Street Cafe and ordered a Jasmine Tea Latte with Almond (it was a special) and headed downstairs to read for a bit. I loved the atmosphere in the cafe! There was so much space to sit and relax without pressure. I stayed and read for about an hour before heading home (you can see the links to two books I finished today below). Bliss…
I started my day off with some reading in Colossians about how Jesus is “before all things, and in him all things hold together.” It blows my mind that Jesus, who was there when creation was breathed into existence, chose to come and dwell among us for our sakes. I don’t deserve his grace, and I definitely don’t deserve the luxury of days like today. But for the moment, I am thankful. I say thank You for life’s simple pleasures and pray to see His goodness when things aren’t so easy. I hope His Word is always the book I start my day with and treasure above all others.
“The grass withers, the flower fades,
    but the word of our God will stand forever.” ~Isaiah 40:8
Links to books mentioned above:
My Bookstore: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14357459-my-bookstore?ac=1
A Novel Bookstore: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7998632-a-novel-bookstore?from_search=true
A Good and Perfect Gift: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10398790-good-and-perfect-gift-a?ac=1
Links to two recent reviews:
Fierce Women: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/891829645
Left to Tell: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/639983842?book_show_action=false
Leave a Reply

