Book Review: Wife After God

Author: Jennifer Smith
ISBN 13: 9781481866880
Rating: 3.5/5 stars
(Read Winter 2014)
This is a great devotional, especially for new wives! I thought it would be helpful to list “pros & cons” based on my experience. 
Pros: 
1. I liked that each day was short and sweet. The author referenced Scripture and then went right into application. 
2. It was an easy read, not requiring too much deep theological thinking. Very practical. 
3. The format was good; I liked the prayer, challenges, and questions. 
Cons: 
1. I think I would have appreciated it more if she had started with one or two Scripture references and then added “for further study” or something like that. Sometimes there might be four or five passages to read. GOOD that she based the study on Scripture, but I thought it would have been more effective to focus on one or two. 
2. This is probably being picky, but I found several typos throughout the book. 

Overall, I would recommend this book. It is not for you if you are looking for in depth theology, but it is great if you want general encouragement about being a Godly wife. I really love the author’s blog and think she is doing a great ministry!

Leave a Reply

